Potions and Snitches
Snape and Harry Gen Fanfiction Archive

Reviews For Rubbing Alcohol
Title: Rubbing Alcohol 15 Aug 2011 8:21 am
Reviewer: Rhyselle (Signed) [Report This]
    I know it has been several years since you wrote this fic, but dare I hope that you wrote a sequel about Charlie's arrival?

    You did a great job of telling us about what led up to this story without boring us with tons of exposition. I liked how you kept Snape "Snape-like" and yet let hints of compassion creep in.

    I'll check out your profile for other stories now. A good handling of the challenge.

    Author's Response: Thank you so much for your comments! I'm afraid there won't be a sequel, but you can imagine what it was like if you want, and believe that it was what happened. :)
Title: Rubbing Alcohol 06 Jun 2011 9:49 pm
Reviewer: 1sunfun (Signed) [Report This]
    Interessting.
    CCAP

    Author's Response: Thank you. :)
Title: Rubbing Alcohol 12 May 2011 4:53 am
Reviewer: Socks4Dobby (Signed) [Report This]
    I love it when Snape has Healer skills. His hands just seem made for it.

    I did wonder, however, why he did not just use magic? He had no potions but surely a wand. How could they be out of sticking charms? Use of spells does not just expire.

    I also noticed a lot of commas when periods and semicolons were appropriate. I urge you to restudy proper punctuation .

    well done, aside.

    Author's Response: Hello. Thank you for the review. In the story the witches and wizards are starving so much that they no longer have enough energy to fuel their magic. That is why they can't use magic. That is why they were going to eat an owl so that they would have energy to do magic.

    I studied punctuation several times from University punctuation websites each time I edited and reuploaded this story. It is rather tricky though, mostly because I look at both the British and American versions of commas and they are different, such as I went to the store to buy eggs, bread, and milk versus I went to the store to buy eggs, bread and milk. Both are correct depending on which version (British or American) you use.
Title: Rubbing Alcohol 14 Aug 2009 8:05 am
Reviewer: Fernsfairie (Signed) [Report This]
    Wow, what a... depressingly nice story.

    Author's Response: Okay, thanks! :)
Title: Rubbing Alcohol 29 Jul 2009 9:30 pm
Reviewer: Nota Bene (Signed) [Report This]
    Very interesting situation. Hogwarts under siege, no supplies. I like the interaction between Severus and Harry, you can't tell if they get along or not, like if they're friends. I really liked this. I'd love to see more...hinthint...

    ~~Estie~~

    Author's Response: Thank youfor your review! I really appreciate it. :)
Title: Rubbing Alcohol 30 Jun 2009 6:22 am
Reviewer: Aethyr (Signed) [Report This]
    I like this very much. You manage to tell a very deep story in only one chapter; it feels as though there's an entire world, an entire backstory behind it with just the scenario. Well done.

    A few small criticisms:
    Naturally, a few small typos, such as "Owlery".
    Some of it feels overstated. A subtle mention of certain horrors or difficulties they are facing can be more terrible than laying on the paint with a trowel. Never underestimate the power of suggestion, especially where horror is concerned.
    Also, a bit of misused punctuation. E.g. "Did you know that" does not require a comma.

    Hope it helps,
    Aethyr

    Author's Response: Thanks, I will go back and make changes next time I edit. :)
Title: Rubbing Alcohol 26 Sep 2008 6:20 am
Reviewer: ObsessiveaboutSnape (Signed) [Report This]
    Wow.
    *blinks*
    WOW.
    This was really good. I love the setting of a weakening Hogwarts under seige, as it was. VEry interesting, really. It almost made me want to continue, if I were any good at this kind of writing.
    Awesome!!

    Author's Response: Thank you very much! :)
Title: Rubbing Alcohol 11 May 2008 7:04 am
Reviewer: trust severus spy (Signed) [Report This]
    I liked this one a lot better than the other story of this title.

    Author's Response: Aw, thank you. It's an answer to a challenge by the same name though. Anyone can respond to it, including you *nudge nudge*. ;)
Title: Rubbing Alcohol 04 May 2008 3:11 am
Reviewer: waterleaves (Signed) [Report This]
    Wow! Such a scary view of Hogwarts! I like the way their relationship was handled though. Good work!

    Author's Response: Thank you! :)
Title: Rubbing Alcohol 15 Apr 2008 11:43 am
Reviewer: Bourtreehillian (Signed) [Report This]
    Love it. Your stories are great :)

    Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! Your stories are great too. Now write some more!! Hehe.

Disclaimer Charm: Harry Potter and all related works including movie stills belong to J.K. Rowling, Scholastic, Warner Bros, and Bloomsbury. Used without permission. No copyright infringement is intended. No money is being made off of this site. All fanfiction and fanart are the property of the individual writers and artists represented on this site and do not represent the views and opinions of the Webmistress.

Powered by eFiction 3.3