Potions and Snitches
Snape and Harry Gen Fanfiction Archive

Reviews For Fairytale Of Home
Title: The Chimes Of Two 14 Nov 2016 6:20 pm
Reviewer: Kyralian (Signed) [Report This]
    Enter Remus, huh?
    Do you know what I hate about fanfiction in progress? It is infuriating! The abandoned stories are almost easier to bear, as I mourn and accept the unsatisfactory end, but this! I read, starting to enjoy myself, and suddenly the chapter ends and I have to wait again! That's hard!
    About the chapter, poor Harry - how awful it must be to be a child with such a weight bearing him down. He proved his bravery in going to Snape, a true Gryffindor! Snape, I suppose he was a bit better, but not much! In different circumstances, even the threat of spanking could be perceived as caring, and I expect Snape meant it in this way. Unfortunately, it can't work when Snape is so free with punishments, and often undeserved.
Title: The Chimes Of Two 14 Nov 2016 11:15 am
Reviewer: crazychick84 (Signed) [Report This]
    So good to read an update :) I really hope Harry tells someone soon what that awful woman did, poor boy.
Title: The Chimes Of Two 13 Nov 2016 3:08 pm
Reviewer: tb_ll57 (Signed) [Report This]
    I joined this site just so I could say how much I am enjoying this story. It is such a creative AU! And now with hints of, I assume, Remus Lupin lurking? I am so interested in where this is going, but mostly I am enjoying the relationship (or lack thereof) between Snape and Harry. It seems like Snape is getting slightly closer to a desire to understand his stepson, rather than just dismiss him outright. I can't wait to see how that develops. Thanks so much for posting!

    Author's Response: Thank you so much and welcome aboard! :D
Title: The Chimes Of Two 13 Nov 2016 6:22 am
Reviewer: lilyflower101 (Signed) [Report This]
    Who was the man? I hope hge tells them what the bitch's doing to him at home.
Title: The Chimes Of Two 13 Nov 2016 1:54 am
Reviewer: Reader629 (Signed) [Report This]
    Lupin? Ooohhh this will be interesting
Title: The Chimes Of Two 13 Nov 2016 1:38 am
Reviewer: teriwright (Signed) [Report This]
    You have really captured the complexity of child abuse, the confusion and pressure put upon the abused child and how they withdraw into themselves even more. There is more going on than just the obvious. There is mental conditioning and blackmail and protection of others from the abuser. Abused kids can't trust adults because it's the adults that have hurt them. Kudos for capturing this so well.

    I firmly believe that if Harry did actually tell the truth, he wouldn't be believed. Not by Snape and not by McKitty or DD. They might "investigate" but Aolife would deny and that would be that. They might "monitor" the situation but that doesn't help the kid when he's forced back. That's how it always happens in real life. Plus, the abuser will take care to hide further evidence and with magic, that's only too possible. Only after multiple reports and hospitalizations does anything happen. Nothing short of one of these people witnessing Harry being attacked would change anything. An adults word always has more weight than a child's word. Always. Most adults think that kids are liars anyway and tend to be dismissive.

    Sorry: My real world experience is showing I know. Take my rant with a grain of salt. I realize this is just a story.

    But, I will say that given the existence of Magic that there are ways to get to the truth without pressuring harry...it's just a matter of if they are used. My cynical side says: doubtful.

    It's obvious Harry want's to talk to someone about it but he can't trust anything would change for the better. Poor kid. I just want to smoosh him.

    It's also interesting that Harry refers to Lily as Lily instead of "mum". He wrote a letter to Lily, not to his mother or to mum. My heart breaks to see yet another way Snape has hurt Harry by preventing a mother/son relationship between them.

    We can see a glimmer of Snape questioning what he thinks he knows. I think it's more a blow to his pride that he wasn't aware of this than any sort of regret or acknowledgement that his perceptions and treatment of Harry are wrong. He's so not there yet. He still thinks of Harry as a burden, a menace and a no-good child that is a liar and worthless. He unfairly put the fault of Lily's condition on Harry when Harry was just a baby and everything grew from there. (oh how I wish if Harry says anything, it's that Snape told him that harry was a fault for lily being the way she is and that he doesn't actually know how that happened or anything about his father at all) Harry is always guilty, always lying and deserves punishment in snape's eyes, no matter what he does.

    And Snape is very free with physical punishment as well isn't he? It's his immediate go to punishment. He's not blameless in hurting harry and dishes it out at every opportunity. He enjoys hurting harry IMHO even if he would deny that. I've always maintained Corporal Punishment is the province of lazy parents that don't really care. Ie: Snape. He really needs a parenting class, a child development class as well as anger management counseling and what constitutes child abuse. *snort* He needs reprogramming.

    I keep thinking about Harry's placement in the household: his room is in the attic...away from the good and deserving people. I can't remember if Lily is aware of where her son sleeps. But it's such a big sign of Harry's place and how he is thought of in that house and by Snape. Again, heartbreaking.

    I'm insanely curious if the mystery man is Remus Lupin. I have quite a few speculations on this and cant' wait to see what happens.

    As always, a wonderful chapter that really pulls on these old heartstrings. You are treating this topic with the seriousness and complexity it deserves. Which is so very rare in HP fanfiction. I check for an update every day, I'm so that into this story. I just love it!

    Also, apologies for the long winded reviews. I just can't seem to help myself with this story.
Title: The Chimes Of Two 12 Nov 2016 10:12 pm
Reviewer: Miranda (Signed) [Report This]
    Good job! As alwayws.
Title: Great Expectations 09 Nov 2016 9:26 pm
Reviewer: Fmh (Signed) [Report This]
    Sucked a toffee whilst reading this to help with the angst. Not sure who to feel sorry for at this moment! Poor Harry!
Title: Pictures from Ireland 09 Nov 2016 9:13 pm
Reviewer: Fmh (Signed) [Report This]
    Thank you a lovely angsty chapter
Title: Great Expectations 07 Nov 2016 5:14 pm
Reviewer: Twonky (Signed) [Report This]
    Wow. Poor Harry. I was hoping Snape would have more insight than he did.

Disclaimer Charm: Harry Potter and all related works including movie stills belong to J.K. Rowling, Scholastic, Warner Bros, and Bloomsbury. Used without permission. No copyright infringement is intended. No money is being made off of this site. All fanfiction and fanart are the property of the individual writers and artists represented on this site and do not represent the views and opinions of the Webmistress.

Powered by eFiction 3.3