Potions and Snitches
Snape and Harry Gen Fanfiction Archive

Reviews For My Little Runaway
Title: Rules and Regulations 16 Nov 2017 11:46 am
Reviewer: Jade_Sullivan (Signed) [Report This]
    First of all, still loving the story! Secondly, I can't help but throw in my "two cents" about Severus and his parenting skills... :) It's easy to forget that he came from a working class family with a father who lost his temper often. It's no surprise that Severus was mean and bitter and short-tempered as a teacher. Some readers like to pretend that he would have been Father of the Year to Harry, but that isn't very realistic. In canon, he lost his temper all the time. I can easily see him losing his temper at being disobeyed and resorting to physical punishment. I can see him regretting it and feeling guilty about it as well...like any other human being. Realistically, people swat their kids out of anger...or shout at them...and, yes, it stems from anger, but that doesn't mean it doesn't happen. It also doesn't mean that person is abusive...

    I came from a very loving home, but my dad lost his temper more than once... We always got over it and moved on...it's not unusual behavior...

    What you've shown consistently throughout these first few chapters is Severus' discomfort and frustration. He's frustrated that this duty was dumped on him, yet he can't do what he knows is morally right...hence the nightmare of Dumbledore scorning him. This is going to make him unconsciously more protective of Harry, and his restricting Harry and being stern about it is more in character than Snape cuddling him and reassuring him. Snape's father wouldn't have done that for him, so why would he know gentleness?

    Don't feel like you have to justify your writing to anyone. Literature shouldn't give you warm fuzzies all the time... If that's what someone wants, then let them write their own marshmallow version of Severus and bask in his unreality... Stay true to your characterization of him...I think you're spot on, here :)

    Author's Response: Thank you for your encouraging words. I am still pretty new to all of this and Iím not always sure how to respond to readers sometimes. I just do my best to stay positive! Iím glad Severus is true to himself (canon self) and that you really enjoy his character in this story. I am doing my best to make him as realistic as possible in a situation like this. And Iím sorry if I canít give the warm fuzzies some people are looking for, but to those who know Snape and enjoy his bitterness, I shall keep writing for you. I do promise to update soon! And thanks again!
Title: Rules and Regulations 16 Nov 2017 8:52 am
Reviewer: Draco-senpai (Signed) [Report This]
    I've really enjoyed the story so far. It is quite prevalent that young Severus and little Harry have matters to work through, but it is reassuring to know they will at least have each other.
    Great job on the dream by the way! You had me convinced for a moment. I think I was actually screaming at Dumbledore at one point. (At least it was only a dream!)
    One last thing: I had read some of the responses you had left on the comments, and I want you to know that your own story touched me, too. For what it's worth, I'm glad that you found HOME, as well. Also, I admire the way you structured and conducted you responses. Your politeness and respect worked through each was inspiring. Thank you. (~.^)

    Author's Response: Thank you so much for your kind and encouraging words! I am so glad you like the story and happy that my dream sequence really did catch some people off guard - that was the goal, as welll as to show some of Severusís inner fears. And thank you, I never thought my own story would reach out to people, but Iím glad it did for you. I promise to update again soon!
Title: Rules and Regulations 15 Nov 2017 3:23 pm
Reviewer: agatag (Signed) [Report This]
    " I shall hopefully demonstrate a better side to CP."

    There is no bigger bullshit than beating [spanking is also a beating!] a child and telling him/her "it's for your own good". I'm sorry to be so crude but what you are saying is outrageous - that we can beat smaller persons as long as we have some fancy explanation.

    Beating/spanking/corporalpunishment is NEVER acceptable.

    And that cold "logical" reasoning is even worse that hitting child once while being scared or really enraged. You can explain that you were being not yourself because of your feelings and that you couldn't contain yourself but that you are very sorry and promise not to do that again. It's something that is understandable.

    But what explanation do you have for causing your child pain without emotion and for saying "I am hurting you because I love you"? None. And that behaviour shows that you are cruel bastard, too stupid or too lazy to find another way how to raise the child.

    You said that I can stop reading when I wont like your ff and that's what I am planning to do - but remember - you are an author. You are responsible for the content that you are putting in the web. There is a risk that someone will believe that nonsense and will start to beat his/her child - because it's such a good and easy way to raise a child. Are you aware of that responsibility?

    [and I'm sorry for any mistakes, English is not my first language and I'm really sad and enraged reading about "better side of beating children"]

    Author's Response: I am going to be honest, I have no children and I do not know how I would raise a child yet. It is why I am neutral on the CP topic because I just donít know. Again, you are certainly entitled to your opinion, as I am to mine. From your statement, I can say that while I am young, I definitely have more experience on this subject than you. Iíve been passed around a lot, from foster home to foster home, an unwanted child. Iíve been beat in some, knocked unconscious in others, and neglected in larger homes. Iím well aware of a beating. Iím well aware of the fear of hiding in a corner while you wait for your guardian to come find you for getting into a fight with another child. And in my adopted family, I was spanked, but it was the most different, painless (surprisingly, and I know pain), experiences Iíve ever had. Iíve never felt so loved and cared for that someone would actually try not to hurt me. If you donít know how that feels, you cannot judge me for being neutral on this topic. Now that I feel Iím being too personal, most of where I ended up was shady malpractice places. Itís a hard World out there, and you canít change everyone. My stories will make no difference to someone who actually beats a child or someone who spanks a child or someone who throws their kid in time out. They donít care about this story because itís just that - a story. The real world doesnít compare. And Iím glad to know at least you will never beat a child (so you say), but for some of us, itís a little too late. And nothing will change that. I still have the scars of my past, but a beautiful family to call home. Will you judge them for saving me? And yes, feel free to stop reading. Even if you ignore this note. You are certainly entitled to your opinion and rights. Thanks anyway!
Title: Rules and Regulations 15 Nov 2017 1:20 pm
Reviewer: Fmh (Signed) [Report This]
    Lovely chapter thank you

    Author's Response: Your welcome and thank you for your review. I promise to update soon!
Title: Rules and Regulations 14 Nov 2017 4:52 am
Reviewer: starangel2106 (Signed) [Report This]
    I just love this story. I feel sad that Harry's all alone though.

    Author's Response: Yes, poor Harry. Severus will just have to learn that you canít leave kids alone. Heís new to this. Thanks for your review! I promise to update soon!
Title: Rules and Regulations 13 Nov 2017 7:30 pm
Reviewer: agatag (Signed) [Report This]
    I logged in so I could comment - I hope that this story wouldn't include Snape spanking Harry and explaining to him that it's for his own good. And that spanking isn't the same as beating - because it's exactly the same thing. People beat children when they feel clueless and they try to reason their behaviour. Please don't do that!

    Author's Response: Have no fear - Severus would never beat Harry. I would like to say from severe personal experience that there is a very fine line between beatings and discipline. Growing up, Iíve travelled to many foster homes that used different methods and Iíve learned that honestly, it all depends on what works for you and the child best. I remain neutral on this topic as it has shown me several different outcomes with child responses. Some accept it and respond well, some donít. And there are cases where itís an actual beating and the guardian has gone too far. So, in my experience, there is a difference and I shall hopefully demonstrate a better side to CP. But you are certainly entitled to your opinion, and you do not have to continue reading if you do not agree. But thanks for giving it a try!
Title: Accidental Magic 11 Nov 2017 7:04 pm
Reviewer: Shellie (Signed) [Report This]
    I am really enjoying your story, hope for an update soon. Shouldn't he have someone check Harry's head if its been weird since it was smashed?

    Author's Response: He should, but Severus isn't aware that its been weird or smashed. Don't worry, it'll all be attended to. Thanks for your review and I promise to update soon!
Title: Accidental Magic 10 Nov 2017 3:28 am
Reviewer: Nightshade sydneylover150 (Signed) [Report This]
    I’m glad that Sev went to get Harry.

    Author's Response: So happy you liked the chapter. Thanks for your review!
Title: Accidental Magic 10 Nov 2017 2:05 am
Reviewer: Fmh (Signed) [Report This]
    Lovely description of Trafalger Square and the hide and seek with Dumbledore. Thank you for updating.

    Author's Response: Thanks for your review! And you're welcome.
Title: Stay 10 Nov 2017 12:45 am
Reviewer: Jade_Sullivan (Signed) [Report This]
    My Lord, I love this story. My heart hurt for Harry...you nailed that scene. Can't wait to settle in and read the next chapter tonight!

    Author's Response: Thank you for your review! I am so glad you love the story.

Disclaimer Charm: Harry Potter and all related works including movie stills belong to J.K. Rowling, Scholastic, Warner Bros, and Bloomsbury. Used without permission. No copyright infringement is intended. No money is being made off of this site. All fanfiction and fanart are the property of the individual writers and artists represented on this site and do not represent the views and opinions of the Webmistress.

Powered by eFiction 3.3