Potions and Snitches
Snape and Harry Gen Fanfiction Archive

Reviews For Suffering
Title: Epilogue 13 Jan 2011 8:48 pm
Reviewer: Sirena (Signed) [Report This]
    WOW - it's only thing I can say. Really good story, seems do real - bravo! I don't usually like this kind of fics but this I read with delightful.
Title: Epilogue 04 Mar 2010 10:53 pm
Reviewer: Baghi (Signed) [Report This]
    Hmm, that was quite interesting. I like when authors don't do the expected. Kudos on a job well done.

    Author's Response:

    I like the unexpected too.  I get bored to easily if I know how the story is going to end halfway through.  Thanks for reading!

    -P.G. 

Title: Epilogue 26 Nov 2009 11:11 pm
Reviewer: tabbycat (Signed) [Report This]
    I really liked that ending - thanks.

    Author's Response:

    Thanks for reading!  I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

    -P.G. 

Title: Epilogue 21 Sep 2009 1:15 pm
Reviewer: Fairner (Signed) [Report This]
    LOL I loved the part with Severus nagging at James to visit Harry :D

    Author's Response:

    Thanks for reading!  Lol, the irony of a version of Severus following and annoying a version of James was just too much to resist.

    -P.G. 

Title: Epilogue 28 Aug 2009 6:29 pm
Reviewer: Snapegirl (Signed) [Report This]
    I was really surprised at the fact that Lily married Scorpius I wasn't expecting that. And their kids sound so cute! I was sad to hear that Sev died though, but at least his portrait is still there to speak to and torment James.

    I'm glad that Viv and Al will marry and hopefully have children, I'm sure Harry would look forward to more grandkids. And I loved how Polaris asked Harry if he were alive when his mum was a kid. Too funny!

    Author's Response:

    Hey, thanks for reading!  I'm glad you liked the family outcome of my fic and Polaris' cutsy personality, lol.  He was a lot of fun to write!  It's sad that Sev died, but he did get what he wanted in the end and was finally able to become a portrait at Hogwarts, which is something he really deserved.  I appreciated you sticking with my fic until the end--thanks again for supporting my writing!

    -P.G. 

Title: Epilogue 27 Aug 2009 6:35 pm
Reviewer: cckeimig (Signed) [Report This]
    I loved the ending, with Lily and Scorpio coming to have brunch. Very nice touch.

    Author's Response:

    Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it.  I figured a little forgiveness was necessary towards the end, no matter how forced and awkward it felt for the characters. 

    -P.G. 

Title: Epilogue 27 Aug 2009 7:50 am
Reviewer: wrappedinharry (Signed) [Report This]
    Aww, not quite happily ever after, but close. I am surprised that James is the one holding out. He never came to check that Al was still alive after the 'fire' at the nursing home.

    What a horrible thing for Lily to do...ask her father-in-law to give her away. What a terrible blow for Harry. Malfoy won the most important battle of them all...he won Potter's daughter! I can just imagine the smugness that he would have been exuding. I really can't imagine what Ginny would have thought of her eldest and youngest children's treatment of their father and brother. She would be heart broken.

    Lovely story PG and I am glad that at least Al ended up with his true love. Harry will always have regrets...he has missed so much of his daughter and her children's lives and he may never get James back. I am not sure I would want him back just so that he can get away from the annoying portrait of Severus Snape.

    Thanks for the entertainment.

    Lesley~

    Author's Response:

    James is kind of an interesting character here and if I hadn't rushed the plot for Challenge Fest, I think I would have done more with him.  I kind of envision him as the instigator of the family feud, who easily dragged Lily to his side because she was hurting and needed someone other than Harry to take care of her.  I think that because James wasn't home and had no intention of coming home the day of the incident, he feels really helpless about the whole situation and finds a huge need to blame someone (and Harry is the easiest victim here, hands down).  James is stubborn and I honestly don't think there is any way that he would ever reconcile with the group.

    It's depressing to think about how much of James and Lily's lives Harry has missed because of this.  Ironically, it would hurt him more because he'd always know what was going on in their lives because of the press, but would never get to hear about it from them, which is absolutely terrible.

    I'm so glad you enjoyed this Lesley.  As I said before, your comments have helped immensely and your reviews are very encouraging.  Thanks for reading!

    -P.G. 

Title: Chapter 7: The Suffering of Albus 27 Aug 2009 7:28 am
Reviewer: wrappedinharry (Signed) [Report This]
    Hey PG. I must have missed the alert for this. Hence the late review.

    Wonderful chapter. Severus is brilliant in this story. You paint him perfectly. Irascible and superior, just like in canon. And a brilliant wizard to boot.

    It's great to see HArry up and about, even if it was only temporary, before he was knocked on his butt. Probably a good thing. I can't imagine his panic, thinking he might be about to lose his only remaining child.

    Great to see Hermione. Why is it so long between visits though? And why hasn't she seen HArry for so long? Surely even the MoM deserves to have alife and Hermione does have a rather large family. I can't imagine Hermione not having frequent contact with those she loves, though I can understand why she would give Ron a wide birth being as bad-tempered and horrible as he is. So, Ron blames Harry for a raid going wrong, does he? Poor Harry...and he would feel guilty and think it was entirely his fault.

    So, Lily stopped by. Is a reconciliation in the wind. Onto the final chapter to find out.

    I think this story benefits enormously from being written in the first person, entirely from Als POV. Do you find writing in the first person difficult? I know when I write personal introspection in the first person I have to double check to make sure I haven't written 'he' rather than 'I' I find it quite difficult to keep on track, though I suppose if the whole thing is written in the first person, it is easier.

    Okay...onwards.

    Lesley~

    Author's Response:

    Hey Lesley, thanks for the reading!

    I'm so glad you like my Severus--I was hoping he would sound very much like the canon version, while still fitting the profile of a mentor to Harry and Albus.

    I really wanted Harry to be turned in the right direction by Severus' advice, but I knew at the same time that he couldn't just wake up the next day and be back to normal either.  Hearing that Albus was in an accident would really affect Harry on many levels and I imagine was in need of an extra large dose of Calming Draught.  Albus is all he has left at that point and Harry loves him dearly--I'm glad you caught that part.  

    As for Hermione, she is avoiding Ron.  Ron is being a total a-hole and since Hermione has very little time off her job, she doesn't always want to spend it getting yelled at by Ron.  I should have put something in the epilogue about him too because it's quite possible that Ron will never come around, especially if his injury is permanent.  Anyway, Ron has a whole slew of family members who take turns visiting him, so it's not as if he's lonely out there.  

    I think Hermione would like to visit Harry more, but I think she'd also have a bit of a problem seeing him in his current situation.  Clearly, Harry is not the wizard he once was and I think that would be hard for Ron and Hermione to come to terms with before the accident.  After the accident, Harry takes time off his Auror job and only gets worse because he has nothing to occupy his mind besides thoughts of his misfortune.  Because of this, I think Hermione would spend most of her free time with her own grown up children and grandchildren; she needs a little light in her life too and her current job must be extremely stressful.

    I'm very glad I went with Al's p.o.v. in this story.  When I started to write it, I actually redid the first chapter several times, putting it in third person and also trying to write it from Harry's p.o.v.  Albus' was more satisfying though and his emotions run so deep that they really add to the fic.

    It is hard to write it though.  Sometimes I get on a roll, look back, and find that I randomly switched back to third person a few paragraphs back, lol.  It's a challenge (and then, I also have a hard time going back to third person after writing first person for a long time--it's a vicious cycle!) but I really like the perspective.  It's fun because you get to try and convey what other people are thinking while only speaking through the one person.  That person can also misinterpret things and that's just a lot of fun to write.  I plan to write more first person fics because the perspective has really grown on me.

    Thanks again for reading--your comments have been a great help to this fic and to me as an author.

    -P.G. 

Title: Epilogue 27 Aug 2009 5:17 am
Reviewer: Pandora (Signed) [Report This]
    Oh that was so beautiful and I loved the ending. I'm a sucker for a happy ending. And I loved that Severus lived! Yay!

    Oh, two Sevitus'? Yippeee!! And the end of HSO, great.

    I'm especially excited about a possibility of a novel-length Severitus. I'm also a sucker for Severitus' ! Can't wait.

    Fantastic ending to a brilliant story. I'm sorry to see it end though, but happy that you have already new projects in the works.

    Author's Response:

    Lol, oh Pandora...your happiness makes me smile.

    Technically, Severus did die, but his essence sort of lives on in his portrait at Hogwarts, nagging James...  I think he'd like to be known as 'the portrait who nags James.'  There's something really ironic about that, lol.

    Since this fic was a success, I thought I might try something longer and I've had my eye on the original Severitus challenge for a long time now.  I think it's time to make it happen.  I already have a tentative outline for it, but I'd like to finish a couple of my other projects first.

    Thanks for your reviews and support Pandora--both have been greatly appreciated.

    -P.G. 

Title: Chapter 7: The Suffering of Albus 17 Aug 2009 2:04 am
Reviewer: tabbycat (Signed) [Report This]
    Ooh! Brilliant! Love Hermione. Completely brilliant idea for her to be minister. How can there be only one more chapter?!

    Author's Response:

    Thanks Tabby, I'm glad you enjoyed it!  I'm glad you liked my Hermione.  As for one more chapter, well, originally this was for Challenge Fest, but I just didn't get it done on time.  I never meant for it to get this long, though I realize now that it really could have been way longer than I made it.  Don't worry though, I'm going to cover all of the loose ends in the Epilogue.

    Thanks for supporting my writing!

    -P.G. 


Disclaimer Charm: Harry Potter and all related works including movie stills belong to J.K. Rowling, Scholastic, Warner Bros, and Bloomsbury. Used without permission. No copyright infringement is intended. No money is being made off of this site. All fanfiction and fanart are the property of the individual writers and artists represented on this site and do not represent the views and opinions of the Webmistress.

Powered by eFiction 3.3