Potions and Snitches
Snape and Harry Gen Fanfiction Archive

Title: Visitors 09 Sep 2015 8:13 pm
Reviewer: Dream Painter (Signed) [Report This]
    I like the routine Severus and Harry are starting to fall into. I think it will prove good for them both.

    I must ask, however: did you ever get your soul back after it got eaten?

    Author's Response: My soul did return in time, thankfully. It took many cups of tea, and a lot of cookies, but it returned. ;)
Title: Visitors 16 Nov 2014 8:22 pm
Reviewer: Eszther (Signed) [Report This]
    Thank you for a wonderful, perfectly paced story. It is very beliefable how they learn to trust each other slowly. (you made me want to strangle retriever puppies ... just joking, I know the animagus and the auror are at fault here)

    Author's Response: GAH - I MADE YOU WANT TO DO WHAT? Oh ... right, kidding. *wipes sweat off forehead* Haha, thanks for the review Eszther! I am glad you feel it's believable, and feel the story is well paced. It's been a very difficult one for me to write, as time has not been something I've had on my side and I have to wrack my brains as to where the story is going every time I get the chance to write another chapter! I've been worried it's going too slowly, so this comment means a lot. Cheers, Whitetail.
Title: Visitors 09 Nov 2014 4:33 pm
Reviewer: Dream Painter (Signed) [Report This]
    Okay, so I totally just spent all night reading up to this point. I was going to write. Heck, I was going to sleep. But nooo... I read this instead, knowing full well the infamous "To be continued..." awaited me.

    Nonetheless, despite my tiredness, I find it all worth it. What an exquisite tale you have been weaving - not that this surprises me in the least. I like you depicted the situations that led Harry and Snape to Oak Tree and how they have slowly and gradually come to see that the other is not what they initially expected. There have been some great lines and moments. I loved, loved, loved how they skived off from activities together - and the moment when Snape found Harry reading and eating under the table. And that's just a couple of the wonderful scenes throughout this tale that I find myself in love with.

    I can't wait to read the next chapter!

    Author's Response: Hey Dream! Great to hear I am once again interfering with your ability to be productive. ;) Well, I am glad that you found it all worth it. Mental has been an interesting challenge for me. Due to how busy I have been, I feel it is way less coherent as I have only been able to devote sporadic bits of time to it. It is awesome to know that you are enjoying it, however. I am glad you thought the two of them skiving off activities was fun. I had a blast writing that. I felt like the two of them would having the whole skiving thing in common, as both have trepiditions regarding social gatherings due to their upbringings and the unfortunate publicity around their lives, what with Harry's "Boy Who Lived" status and Severus' mistakes as a spy. Anyway, great to hear from you, and glad you are enjoying TSWWM. Cheers!
Title: Visitors 07 Nov 2014 11:39 pm
Reviewer: the other witch (Signed) [Report This]
    I'm glad Ron is supportive. He wasn't much surprised to meet a civilly behaving Snape.

    Author's Response: Hey, other witch! I am glad you are pleased Ron is supportive. Hmm, was he surprised, or was he acting like he wasn't? Thanks for the review!
Title: Visitors 06 Nov 2014 12:22 am
Reviewer: Fmh (Signed) [Report This]
    Very good chapter thank you

    Author's Response: Thanks, Fmh!
Title: Visitors 05 Nov 2014 11:39 pm
Reviewer: teriwright (Signed) [Report This]
    Gah! Another great chapter. You have captured the emotions so well. I'm happy Harry can at least recognize a trigger even if he doesn't know why he is triggered.

    When Harry mentioned going back to school, I thought he has much more courage that me to even contemplate Hogwarts as a safe place. On the contrary, it's a hostile environment.

    I can't even imagine going back to that hell hole. I think i would be making plans to attend another school, like so many children do in these situations. It would not help his healing (IMHO) to return to Hogwarts, it would set it back. It would only help DD to have Harry and Severus close at hand.

    But then again, this is the HP universe and Hogwarts is a main character where all the action happens. Still, I don't see any benefit in returning. The students are cruel, immature monsters that would take delight in tormenting them both. They have never been punished in the past for their bullying of Harry, they have been taught it's perfectly OK. No reason to believe it would change now given the personalities involved.

    It'll probably be worse from those feel they have been betrayed by their Hero, that's he's just as human as the rest of them and can't save them. Learning that they'll have to save themselves after building up the image of a shield that protects them (no matter their actions) from evil would result in quite a bit of personal fear I suspect, lashing out at the one they view as the cause of that fear.

    They need a fresh start.

    Whew! I think I was triggered by the thought of returning to Hogwarts :-) Please forgive me and ignore my rant. I love this story and can't wait for more!

    Author's Response:

    Hello, teriwright! :) I don't mind the ranting in the least - I totally understand what you're saying! You make an excellent point, and I think it would have been a very intriguing direction to take. I think the reason I chose Hogwarts to remain Harry's school was as follows: To start, I'm not sure if there are any other schools for magic in the UK, and yes, you are very right that a lot of Harry and Severus returing is Dumbledore's influence. Given what we know about other magical schools, their other options of similar academic level to Hogwarts were Durmstrang (ahh, nope!!!) or Beauxbatons, where they speak French. Unless there was another school nearby that spoke English, I figured that it would be a very rough transition for Harry due to the probably language gap. This was because, despite Hogwarts being hostile from time to time, Harry does have a support network there, which I thought was very important, especially how guarded Harry is when it comes to trusting people. So that was my reasoning, but your idea is equally valid, and I do wonder what the story would have looked like had I gone down that road. I'm surprised I did not spend much time considering sending Harry to another school, but having grown up in a terrible school environment myself, I never did leave my own school either because of friends who supported me (however few there were).  I think I probably was just stuck in old habits and didn't really consider making up a new school for him to go to!

     So, in conclusion, thanks a lot for the review. I am very glad you are enjoying the story, and feel the emotions are well captured. Also, NEVER feel guilty in "ranting" in a review of any of my stories! It is so refreshing to hear a well thought out argument like the one you presented. It gets me out of my head and makes me see things from another's perspective, which is often exactly what I need as a writer. I just hope you don't mind me writing such a long response, haha! Cheers, Whitetail.

Title: Visitors 03 Nov 2014 10:05 pm
Reviewer: crotia (Signed) [Report This]
    How amazing it must be to have someone to go to like that in your bad moments...

    Thanx for the chapter

    Author's Response: Howdy, crotia! Yeah, wouldn't that be nice, eh? Sigh. You are most welcome for the chapter!
Title: Visitors 03 Nov 2014 8:12 pm
Reviewer: cckeimig (Signed) [Report This]
    Definitely enjoyed. :-)

    Author's Response: Great to hear!
Title: Visitors 03 Nov 2014 1:49 pm
Reviewer: BlueWater5 (Signed) [Report This]
    Great update! Well-written scenes.

    Author's Response: Thanks for sharing your thoughts. :)
Title: Visitors 03 Nov 2014 8:42 am
Reviewer: Scorpia (Signed) [Report This]
    Ohh, Ron about made me cry with his, 'He wondered how Harry got by, with nobody to tell him that.' *Sniffles*

    It's nice to see a Ron that cares about his best mate, and isn't completely oblivious.
    Harry under the table was cute, and so was Snape's reaction. Lovely chapter m'dear! Don't let school get you down!

    Author's Response: Hey Scorpia! Great to hear from you. Thanks a lot for the well wishes regarding school - your comment cheered me up immensely! I am glad that you enjoyed Ron's involvement, as well as the table scene. I rather liked that one myself. Cheers, Whitetail.

Disclaimer Charm: Harry Potter and all related works including movie stills belong to J.K. Rowling, Scholastic, Warner Bros, and Bloomsbury. Used without permission. No copyright infringement is intended. No money is being made off of this site. All fanfiction and fanart are the property of the individual writers and artists represented on this site and do not represent the views and opinions of the Webmistress.

Powered by eFiction 3.3