Potions and Snitches
Snape and Harry Gen Fanfiction Archive

Reviews For Marge's Boyfriend
Title: Chapter 2 02 Jun 2015 9:51 pm
Reviewer: Fmh (Signed) [Report This]
    Very good mix of humour and more serious parts thank you

    Author's Response: Yes, I had to write on several levels, and I tried to get the humor to balance out some of the tension in the rest of the scenes. Thanks for the review!
Title: Chapter 1 02 Jun 2015 9:38 pm
Reviewer: Fmh (Signed) [Report This]
    Very funny and well written thank you

    Author's Response: Thanks! I always hope readers will "get" my brand of humor -- glad it worked for you!
Title: Chapter 3 02 Jun 2015 8:41 pm
Reviewer: Jan_AQ (Signed) [Report This]
    Love it! Great thoughts, and the business about the wards and Snape checking them makes a lot of sense!

    Author's Response: Yes, Dumbledore is concerned, and he doesn't want to alert the Dursleys that they are under observation, so Snape has to utilize his skills as a spy under rather trying circumstances. He certainly gets an eyeful...
Title: Chapter 2 02 Jun 2015 8:34 pm
Reviewer: Jan_AQ (Signed) [Report This]
    Woahhhh! So intense! Fantastic development and events!!!

    Author's Response: Oh, yes! I really enjoyed writing all aspects of this chapter, from the interaction between Snape and Harry, to Ripper and Marge, to the neighbors watching Number 4! We've had two dogs (gone to the great big doghouse in the sky these many years) who would do "the brown tornado", one silently spinning around the yard, and the other growling fiercely in utter joy! I just had to incorporate Roy and Hamlet into Ripper's performance
Title: Chapter 1 02 Jun 2015 8:23 pm
Reviewer: Jan_AQ (Signed) [Report This]
    Ahhhh!!!! This is AWESOME! Fantastic characterization of everyone, and I loved the thoughts and descriptions. I only wish I could of had some of that dinner!!!

    Author's Response: Thank you, thank you! I've never answered a challenge before, so I have my fingers crossed that the rest of the story continues to entertain you! I really wanted to give Dudley a bit more depth than many stories do. Also, I had to deal with the dilemma of introducing a character who doesn't get the chance to speak, until the very end! And then there's Marge... I have to confess I had Pam Ferris' performance in mind when I wrote Marge, then just pushed the envelope! Thanks for reviewing!!! 😊
Title: Chapter 6 01 Jun 2015 10:46 pm
Reviewer: tb_ll57 (Anonymous) [Report This]
    Given we always hear about the Marauders' pranks, it was very amusing that Snape could be so sly in pranking Marge. Although Ripper clearly had the last laugh! That was a great action sequence.

    If this were a longer story I'd love more on Harry and the Privet Drive house. You gave it dimension, and it would be interesting to see it grow into a bit of a personality of its own as Harry came to relate to it. As it stands though that's an interesting concept and relates very neatly to how Snape just feels at home at Hogwarts in the end, without even making the comparison himself. Hogwarts is all bits and pieces of history that have meaning associated with it, and Snape knows it and loves it even as Harry does in the books.

    Fascinating and fun! I really enjoyed this. Thanks for sharing!

    Author's Response: I tried not to go too deeply into Marge's character, but I think most females have had romantic fantasies that resurface when prodded. Marge's personality is brusque and overbearing, probably scaring off men in the past, so she sought solace in her devotion to her dogs. But put a whiff of romance under her nose and she can't help but respond. Oh, I loved the prank! And writing the aftermath was so much fun! Ripper... what a menace! Snape was definitely relieved to return to Hogwarts, to his level of normal so different than the "normal" in the Dursleys' house. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! 😃
Title: Chapter 3 01 Jun 2015 10:15 pm
Reviewer: tb_ll57 (Anonymous) [Report This]
    Nothing like seeing is believing. I think you hit the delicate balance between Snape's intelligence and logic joining the dots and his emotional investment in viewing Harry as an arrogant miscreant very well. He strains to defer judgment on a situation that's pretty obvious, but in a way that makes sense for his character and history, and I like that he's also been unhesitating in confronting Harry (or getting what he needed from Harry's mind) while still struggling to reconcile it with what he wants to be true. THe accidental magic with the mirror at Marge's slurring Lily was boss and delightful and makes Snape's reticence toward Harry all the sadder.

    Author's Response: I so loved having the mirror crack! Also, I believed Snape needed some quiet time to reflect on all he had learned before facing Harry once more. It's never was to revise deeply-ingrained beliefs, but when faced with an undeniable truth, Snape rises to the occasion and makes the effort to get past the image of James Potter's face. I've read so many stories where Snape refuses for way too long to accept the idea that he has been wrong about Harry. I wanted to show that an intelligent, logical individual wouldn't fight against reality when it was staring him in the face. I'm glad to see your agreement!
Title: Chapter 1 01 Jun 2015 9:58 pm
Reviewer: tb_ll57 (Anonymous) [Report This]
    Wow, you get points for both creative premise and excellent execution! Your writing is snappy and the pace is perfect, letting each emotional impact of various points land but not lingering too long. The short near-connection between Dudley and Harry was melancholic with possibility, but the practical side of Harry expecting it not to last felt like a mental sigh and shrug. The open abuse with Marge slapping Harry was also well-written-- focusing on the action, rather than dwelling on Harry's feelings, revealed its normality in this household and Harry's defence of feeling nothing in particular about it. I also really enjoyed the sheer physicality of Harry's struggle with the mattress, very well-written and provided a great spatial awareness that made me feel so grounded in this house. Very much looking forward to the rest of the story-- and to see what else you've written as well!

    Author's Response: Whoa! Grounded in the Dursleys' house... Scary! But thank you so much for your many compliments! I enjoy seeing how attentive readers experience my stories, and it's gratifying to see that the time I took over detailed action and description was worthwhile. I'd actually been afraid of overdoing it and losing readers attention as a result. Thanks for telling me otherwise! 😊
Title: Chapter 6 01 Jun 2015 6:27 am
Reviewer: Anna (Anonymous) [Report This]
    Awesome! And thank you soo much for posting all chapters at once when it was finished! I really enjoyed reading this! Looking forward to more from you!

    Author's Response: Thank YOU very much for reading and reviewing! Yes, I prefer to finish an entire story and post the whole thing, rather than drag it out chapter by chapter. Maybe it's because that's the way I like to read! So glad you enjoyed it! 😊
Title: Chapter 6 31 May 2015 3:41 pm
Reviewer: Eszther (Anonymous) [Report This]
    At first I thought - how cruel! What is Cruciatus compared to having to court Aunt Marge for the sake of spying. But Severus rallied admirably. Thank you for a wellplotted, wellwritten and funny story!

    Author's Response: Many thanks for reading and reviewing! I truly enjoyed writing this story, even thought it took me three years to put it all together! (Ridiculous, I know!) So glad you enjoyed it! That's what I always hope for when I write. 😊

Disclaimer Charm: Harry Potter and all related works including movie stills belong to J.K. Rowling, Scholastic, Warner Bros, and Bloomsbury. Used without permission. No copyright infringement is intended. No money is being made off of this site. All fanfiction and fanart are the property of the individual writers and artists represented on this site and do not represent the views and opinions of the Webmistress.

Powered by eFiction 3.3